820 E. Grant St. Suite 230

Appleton, WI 54911

Phone: (920) 738-7300

Fax: (920) 738-7301

M - Th: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Friday: 8:00 am - 12:00 pm

Curbside View

About Us

At Associates in Gastroenterology, we provide evaluation and treatment of any disorders or diseases of the digestive system or liver and any related auto immune disorders (Crohn's disease or Ulcerative colitis). We also perform procedures only for patients that are referred by their primary care physician.

What is a Gastroenterologist?


Gastroenterology is medicine focused on the digestive system and its disorders. Diseases affecting the gastrointestinal tract include the organs from the mouth to the anus. The digestive system is made up of the mouth, salivary glands, pharynx, esophagus, liver, gallbladder, stomach, pancreas, small intestine, large intestine, rectum and anus.

A gastroenterologist completes four years of medical school and three years of internal medicine residency, followed by a fellowship in gastroenterology. The fellowship takes two to four years to complete and ensures the physician is uniquely and highly qualified to diagnose and treat disorders of the digestive tract.

The GI fellow will learn how to recognize and treat esophageal problems, ulcers, gallbladder and bile duct diseases, pancreas disorders, liver diseases and pathology, inflammatory disease of the intestines, infections of the intestines, motility and fuctional illnesses, nutrition and obesity. Fellows will also learn how to screen for gastrointestinal cancers, including cancers of the esophagus, stomach, liver, pancreas, small intestine and colon. A GI fellow also learns how to properly use the endoscope, ethics, medical economics, and how to operate a practice.